The Regional Environmental Centre for Central Asia

Go to the CAREC main website

Climate Adaptation and Mitigation Program for Aral Sea Basin (CAMP4ASB)

44d1d1938dc6bbb4a34edf65d707409a.jpg


Budget:

Component 1 and Sub-Component 3.1: $15 million

Component 2: Tajikistan: $9 million, and Uzbekistan: $14 million

Project completion date: 30 April 2021

Donor: World Bank

Partners: Governments of the Central Asian countries, Executive Committee of International Fund for Saving the Aral Sea (EC-IFAS)

The project aims to address common problems and challenges related to climate change in Central Asian countries by enhancing access to improved climate change knowledge and data for key stakeholders (decision makers, expert communities, etc.); and also by increasing investment and capacity building.

The project consists of three components. CAREC is in charge of implementing Component 1, aimed to enhance the knowledge database and climate change capacities, and facilitate regional dialogue and cooperation between many stakeholders to ensure efficient climate response by scale. CAREC is also in charge of implementing Sub-Component 3.1, which functions to coordinate and support project implementation at the regional level. Component 2 and Sub-Component 3.2. are implemented by project participant countries (e.g., Tajikistan and Uzbekistan) which work on climate investment and capacity building in their respective countries.


Component 1

Regional Services in the Area of Climate Knowledge

Implementation of this component will include provision of technical assistance in establishing a unified regional analytical platform to ensure sustainable climatic development in Central Asia. This approach involves development of a number of tools for data visualization, receipt of new knowledge and capacity buildup to ensure efficient decision making in the area of climate change.

Component activities include:

• Strengthening the Information Platform for Central Asia.
• Targeted upgrading of climate-related monitoring systems.
• Developing methodologies, approaches, and tools for decision support.
• Developing knowledge products.
• Building capacity.
• Setting up a Climate Investment Assessment Mechanism.
• Outreach and coalition building.

Regional Environmental Center for Central Asia (CAREC) is in charge of implementing Component 1 and of coordination and support for project implementation at the regional level.

Point of Contact for Component 1:

Tahmina Azizova, Coordinator, Regional Coordination Unit (RCU)

Download project profile (Regional level)
Download infographic


Component 2

Regional Fund of Climate Investment

National components in each country consist of two sub-components:

·         Climate investment

·         Capacity building and community support

Implementation of national components aims to improve performance and address climate change problems by providing assistance to investment in agriculture, land resource management and other activities which ensure sustainability of climate change. This is achieved by allocating funds and enhancing the capacity of rural communities and resource users, as well as joint planning of activities and support for implementation of climate investment plans at the community level.

The Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Tajikistan, with coordination and support for project implementation at the national level provided from the Committee for Environment Protection of the Republic of Tajikistan, is in charge of implementation of Component 2 in the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Agency for Rural Restructuring under the Ministry of Agriculture and Water of the Republic of Uzbekistan is in charge of implementation of Component 2 in the Republic of Uzbekistan. Interaction at the regional level is ensured by the Center of Hydrometeorological Service under the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan (Uzgidromet).

Points of Contact for Component 2:

Akhliddin Ubaidulloyev, National Coordinator (Ministry of Finance) in Tajikistan

Zafar Makhmoudov, National Coordinator (Committee for Environment Protection) in Tajikistan

Abdurakhim Tuychiev, National Coordinator in Uzbekistan


Component 3

Coordination at the Regional and National Level

Coordination at the regional level. As the Regional Coordination Unit (RCU), CAREC will be implementing the project at the regional level, including:

·         Regular interaction with National Coordination Units (NCU) and provision of appropriate technical support

·         Assessment of national climate investment implementation in participant countries, on a semi-annual basis

·         Dissemination of the best practices and program deliverables for better planning of activities in participant countries

Coordination at the national level. Implementation of this sub-component will include funding of operational costs of the NCU responsible for supervision of investment implementation at the national level in each participant country. Support will also be provided to the NCU to enhance coordination of activities at the national level with regards to procurement, financial management, reporting, safety compliance, and monitoring and evaluation.

Points of Contact for Component 3:

Zafar Makhmoudov, National Coordinator (interaction with regional Component 1) in Tajikistan

Natalya Agaltseva, PoC for climate change (interaction with regional Component 1) in Uzbekistan

The project aims to address common problems and challenges related to climate change in Central Asian countries by enhancing access to improved climate change knowledge and data for key stakeholders (decision makers, expert communities, etc.); and also by increasing investment and capacity building.

Central Asian countries

The progress in achieving the CAMP4ASB goas will be evaluated by the following indicators and deliverables:

·         Reaching of the share of users with a positive opinion on climate change information services provided by the Program, to the level of 60%

·         The number of national plans and programs using the Program’s information climate services, including lessons learned from climate investment, will reach 5

·         Joint activities resulting in investment funding, for collaboration between the countries. These joint activities must support the work in transboundary geographical areas or may include coordination of activities between the countries to multiply results for better adaptation to climate change. This must be reflected in the national policy

Mobilization of additional
resources to develop knowledge and capacity and implement investment in regional
climate activities thanks to enhanced coordination between the countries and
organizations dealing with development in Central Asia, will reach a volume of
US$50 million

Региональный экологический центр центральной азии

Перейти на главный сайт РЭЦЦА
Центрально-Азиатская Конференция
по вопросам изменения климата
дней часов минут
24-25 января 2018
г. Алматы, Казахстан

Программа по адаптации к изменению климата и смягчению его последствий в бассейне Аральского моря (CAMP4ASB)

44d1d1938dc6bbb4a34edf65d707409a.jpg    


 

Бюджет:

Компонент 1 и Субкомпонент 3.1: $15 миллионов

Компонент 2: Таджикистан: $9 миллионов и Узбекистан: $14 миллионов

Дата окончания проекта: 30 апреля 2021

Донор: Всемирный Банк

Партнеры: Правительства стран Центральной Азии, Исполком Международного фонда спасения Арала (ИК МФСА)

Проект нацелен на решение общих проблем и вызовов, связанных с последствиями изменения климата в странах Центральной Азии через усиление доступа к улучшенным знаниями и данным в области изменения климата для ключевых заинтересованных сторон (лица принимающие решения, экспертные сообщества, и т.д.); а также посредством увеличения инвестиций и наращивания технического потенциала.

Проект состоит из трех компонентов. РЭЦЦА отвечает за реализацию Компонента 1, который направлен на укрепление базы знаний и потенциала для борьбы с изменением климата и содействия региональному диалогу и сотрудничеству многих заинтересованных сторон для эффективного реагирования климата на масштабе, и Субкомпонента 3.1, который выполняет функцию координации и поддержки реализации проекта на региональном уровне. Компонент 2 и Субкомпонент 3.2. выполняются странами-участницами проекта (в частности, Таджикистан и Узбекистан), которые выполняют деятельность по климатическим инвестициям и усилению потенциала в своих странах.


Компонент 1

«Региональные услуги в области климатических знаний»

В рамках реализации данного компонента будет оказываться техническая помощь в создании единой региональной аналитической платформы для обеспечения климатически устойчивого развития в Центральной Азии. Такой подход предусматривает разработку ряда инструментов по визуализации данных, получению новых знаний и усилению потенциала для эффективного принятия решений в области изменения климата.

Деятельность компонента включает в себя:

·         Создание региональной информационной платформы

·         Целевую модернизацию систем мониторинга, связанных с климатом

·         Разработку методологий, подходов и инструментов

·         Разработку информационных продуктов или продуктов знаний

·         Усиление потенциала

·         Внедрение механизма оценки климатических инвестиций

·         Информационно-просветительскую деятельность и создание коалиций

Региональный экологический центр Центральной Азии (РЭЦЦА) отвечает за реализацию Компонента 1 и за координацию и поддержку реализации проекта на региональном уровне.

Контактное лицо Компонента 1:

Тахмина Азизова, координатор региональной координационной группы (РКГ)

Скачать профиль проекта (Региональный уровень)
Скачать инфографику


Компонент 2

«Региональный фонд климатических инвестиций»

Национальные компоненты в каждой стране состоят из двух субкомпонентов:

·         Климатические инвестиции

·         Укрепление потенциала и поддержка общин

Реализация национальных компонентов направлена на повышение производительности и решение проблем изменения климата посредством содействия реализации инвестиций в сельском производстве, управлении земельными ресурсами и других видах деятельности, способствующих устойчивости к изменению климата, путем выделения финансирования и усиления потенциала сельских общин и пользователей ресурсов, а также совместное планирование деятельности и поддержку реализации планов климатических инвестиций на уровне общин.

Министерство финансов Республики Таджикистан при координации и поддержке реализации проекта на национальном уровне Комитетом по охране окружающей среды Республики Таджикистан отвечает за реализацию Компонента 2 в Республике Таджикистан.

Агентство по реструктуризации сельскохозяйственных предприятий при Министерстве сельского и водного хозяйства Республики Узбекистан отвечает за реализацию Компонента 2 в Республике Узбекистан. Взаимодействие на региональном уровне осуществляется Центром гидрометеорологической службы при Кабинете Министров Республики (Узгидромет).

Контактные лица Компонента 2:

Ахлиддин Убайдуллоев, национальный координатор (Минфин) в Таджикистане

Зафар Махмудов, национальный координатор (КООС) в Таджикистане

Абдурахим Туйчиев, национальный координатор в Узбекистане


Компонент 3

«Координация  на  региональном  и  национальном  уровне»

Координация  на  региональном  уровне. РЭЦЦА, в качестве Региональной координационной группы (РКГ), будет осуществлять реализацию проекта на региональном уровне, включая:

·         Регулярное взаимодействие с Национальными координационными группами (НКГ) и оказание необходимой технической поддержки

·         Проведение оценки реализации национальных климатических инвестиций в странах-участницах на полугодовой основе

·         Распространение наилучших практик и результатов программы для лучшего планирования деятельности в странах-участницах

Координация  на  национальном  уровне. В   рамках реализации данного субкомпонента будут финансироваться операционные расходы НКГ, ответственных за осуществление надзора относительно реализации инвестиций на национальном уровне в каждой из участвующих стран. Также будет оказываться поддержка НКГ в целях содействия координации деятельности на национальном уровне, по вопросам закупок, финансового управления, составления отчетности, контролю соблюдения мер безопасности и проведению мониторинга и оценки.

Контактные лица Компонента 3:

Зафар Махмудов, национальный координатор (взаимодействие с региональным Компонентом 1) в Таджикистане

Наталья Агальцева, контактное лицо по изменению климата (взаимодействие с региональным Компонентом 1) в Узбекистане


     Проект нацелен на решение общих проблем и вызовов, связанных с последствиями изменения климата в странах Центральной Азии через усиление доступа к улучшенным знаниями и данным в области изменения климата для ключевых заинтересованных сторон (лица, принимающие решения, экспертные сообщества, и т.д.); а также посредством увеличения инвестиций и наращивания технического потенциала.
Страны Центральной Азии

Прогресс в достижении цели реализации проекта CAMP4ASB будет оцениваться с помощью следующих показателей и конечных параметров:

·         Достижение доли пользователей, положительно отзывающихся об информационных услугах, связанных с изменениями климата, оказываемых Программой, уровня 60%

·         Количество национальных планов и программ, использующих информационные климатические услуги Программы, включая уроки, вынесенные в результате осуществления климатических инвестиций, будет доведено до 5

·         Совместная деятельность, ведущая к финансированию инвестиций, требующих сотрудничества между странами. Эта совместная работа должна поддерживать мероприятия в трансграничных географических регионах или может включать координацию мероприятий между странами с целью приумножения результатов с точки зрения улучшенной адаптации к изменениям климата, что должно быть отражено в национальной политике

·         Объемы мобилизации дополнительных ресурсов для развития знаний, потенциала и осуществления инвестиций в региональные климатические мероприятия благодаря усилению координации между странами и организациями, занимающимися вопросами развития в Центральной Азии благодаря Программе, достигнет 50 млн. долларов США